St Lucia – earning my keep

Beads of condensation drool down the bottle of ice-cold Piton beer. They caress its curves and seem to purr: “Drink me…”

I need little encouragement. I am barely out of the kayak and up the sandy beach before this Caribbean ambrosia is thrust into my hand, the cool glass soothing my paddle-chafed palm. It is like winning a big, shiny trophy – but, better, one you can consume…

Glad to see my piece on St Lucia’s new ‘Quadrathlon’ in the Independent, though it feels odd to see ones failures writ large in a national newspaper…

Having travelled to the island to try out The BodyHoliday’s new multi-sport workout – a 10km cycle, a 4km run, a 35m abseil and a 2.5km kayak – I *sometimes* wonder why I can’t just write about fancy spas or train trips. But where’s the fun (and blood and sweat) in that?

Leave a Reply

